Looking Both Ways

Today is my birthday. With each succeeding birthday, I seem to grow a bit more philosophical. Understandable, I suppose, given that more of my life is behind me than lies ahead, barring additional scientific advances.

On occasions like this, I find myself thinking about time, how I’ve used it, how I’ve spent it, how I’ve wasted it, how I hope to use it in the future. Thinking about life’s victories and disappointments.

Listening to John Mayer’s song “Gravity,” with an ear and an eye toward possibly covering it in the future provided the background music to this thought process. Later, I came up with the following lines.

Time

Time is running away from me
And time is out of my control
I can’t help but wonder just where the minutes went
Somehow, this life just doesn’t feel whole

I can’t explain just what I mean
But somewhere in the gaps between the night and day
The moments seemed to slip away

Time is running away from me
And time is out of my hands
I can’t help but think about the moments that got past me
Life went by while I was making other plans

I can’t explain just what I mean
But somewhere in the gaps between the night and day
The moments seemed to slip away

Time is running away from me
And I fall further behind
I can’t help but wish for the chance to start again
Now it’s no longer time out of mind

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Looking Both Ways”

Leave a comment