Memories

December 2, 2016 § Leave a comment

“. . . light the corners of my mind.”

Recently, I found a Facebook post that I copied and shared on my own timeline asking people to share a memory they have of me. Reading through the comments, I was reminded of a few events I had completely forgotten, as well as a couple of occurrences I still can’t recall.

My wife has noted on numerous occasions through the years my inability to remember certain things and events. I joke that it guarantees no one will truly be able to tell when I’ve gone senile because I won’t be all that different.

Today’s entry was born out of reading those shared Facebook memories and is a tongue-in-cheek look at my own memory lapses. It has a few more words than some of my efforts. Sorry. The specific events mentioned did not actually take place . . . as far as I can remember.

Tell Me More

I’ve forgotten more of my past than I can remember
And my future’s not looking too clear
Though I can tell you what time it is
I can’t tell you what I’m doing here
I guess my life’s had more adventure
Than I can seem to recall
The only thing I can say for sure
Is that I’m glad I lived through it all

So tell me more if you’d be so kind
You know, the details have slipped my mind
The memories I’ve left behind
Could fill another life in another time
We sure had some great adventures
And made some great memories
But I can’t recall a single one at all
So won’t you repeat them please

Remember that trip we took to the desert?
I can’t say that I do
But if you tell me that we had a good time
I’ll take your word that it’s true
It seems that you recall more of my life
Than the memories I’ve retained
I’m counting on you to fill in the gaps
As I think I’ve just explained

So tell me more if you’d be so kind
You know, the details have slipped my mind
The memories I’ve left behind
Could fill another life in another time
We sure had some great adventures
And made some great memories
But I can’t recall a single one at all
So won’t you repeat them please

You recall you and me in 1993
But for me that time is a blur
And you recall that fix in 2006
But I don’t recall where we were
It’s as if you’ve lived my life
And I was nowhere to be found
So tell it all right from the start
As if I was never around

So tell me more if you’d be so kind
You know, the details have slipped my mind
The memories I’ve left behind
Could fill another life in another time
We sure had some great adventures
And made some great memories
But I can’t recall a single one at all
So won’t you repeat them please

I don’t remember, I must confess
So won’t you repeat them please
I guess I suffer from CRS
So won’t you repeat them please
Don’t you know my mind is a mess
So won’t you repeat them please

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Memories at My Wordsmithing.

meta

