Same As It Ever Was?

August 13, 2017 § Leave a comment

First off, apologies to Talking Heads for borrowing a line from one of their songs to use as the title of today’s entry. Yet, it somehow seems appropriate.

In this entry, I’m doing something I haven’t done before in this blog, I am repeating/reposting lyrics I first posted several months ago. I’m doing so not because I think they are the best lyrics I’ve ever written but because, sadly, they seem just as fitting today as they were when I wrote them nine months ago.

I preface this by saying I am not much good as a fighter. I love to argue – from a distance – but face to face confrontation often leaves me flustered, frustrated, and unable to adequately communicate what I think and feel. Because of that and because of a shyness it took me decades to get past, I have always (I think) been a better written than oral communicator.

The lyrical entry I am reposting today was initially written in the wake of Donald Trump’s election as 45th President of the United States. In that initial post I stated that the lyrics were written in such a way as to try to “transcend mere politics.” In the wake of the events in Charlottesville, there is no longer anything “mere” about the political landscape or the climate resulting from it.

In the lyrics, I wonder whether I can reach across the divide. Seeing where our country seems to be headed, the answer is no.

Across The Divide

There’s a distance grown between us
When it started, I don’t know
Somewhere along the way, we grew apart
Now I stand here at the crossroads
I’m not sure which way to go
Only know I must protect my heart

Now, I find myself on the other side
Wondering, can I reach across the divide

I guess I never really knew you
Or who you were inside
From where I stand, that cuts the other way
We took it all for granted
Assumed each felt the same
Now it seems we’ve nothing left to say

Caught in the light of day, there’s nowhere to hide
Wondering, can I reach across the divide

It’s clear that we don’t think or feel the same
No longer sure of common ground
Ready and willing to assign the blame
What we once shared – tossed aside without a sound

The future is uncertain
The past, not what it seemed
I’m left to wonder what was ever real
Somewhere along the way
We started chasing different dreams
Now we’re hurt and wondering how to heal

Feels like I’m trying to swim against the tide
Wondering, can I reach across the divide

Feels like I’m trying to swim against the tide
Wondering, can I reach across the divide

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Same As It Ever Was? at My Wordsmithing.

meta

