If A Blog Posts In The Forest

August 3, 2017 § Leave a comment

I’ll admit it. I’m stumped. I guess I don’t know how to get my music out there. At the very least, I don’t seem to be able to get anyone (aside from the occasional friend) to comment on the lyrics I post here on this blog.

I’ve never claimed to be the best songwriter currently writing (or even the best songwriter currently writing that no one has heard of). On the other hand, I do think what I write is better than the lyrics of many of the songs one can hear on commercial radio.

Perhaps lyrics don’t matter, although that is much like saying words don’t matter.Which is to say that language and communication don’t matter. I hope that isn’t true because if it is, then I have lived too long.

That frustration provided the initial inspirational spark for these lyrics, although they quickly took off in a different direction, although some of the frustration I felt when I first started to write these lyrics still comes through.

White Flag

Are you listening? Can you hear me?
What else do I have to say?
Tried to touch you; tried to reach you
There’s always something in the way

You barricade yourself behind a wall that I can’t see
You look as if I have become the enemy
Not sure what I can do to change the way you look at me
It’s something beyond my control

I’ll wave a white flag in surrender
‘Cause I don’t know what else to do
I’ve done everything I can think of
The next move is up to you

(four chord step down instrumental)

I’ve been speaking, but you weren’t listening
Guess I shouldn’t be surprised
You looked through me like a stranger
Your apathy was not disguised

You act like I have changed when you’re the one who’s different now
I wish I could break through, but I just don’t know how
It feels as if I’m being forced to take a final bow
Or say goodbye to my soul

I’m like a bird with a broken wing
Can’t seem to get up off the ground
Wondering if I should just stop trying
Go quietly without a sound

I’ll wave a white flag in surrender
‘Cause I don’t know what else to do
I’ve done everything I can think of
The next move is up to you

I’ll wave a white flag in surrender
‘Cause I don’t know what else to do
I’ve done everything I can think of
The next move is up to you

© 2018 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading If A Blog Posts In The Forest at My Wordsmithing.

meta

