Maybe I Should Apologize In Advance?

August 2, 2017 § 2 Comments

There is a commercial for a weight-loss program that comes on as many as a dozen times a day or more, it seems. You’ve probably seen it. The commercial in question features Marie Osmond, touting the benefits of the program, which shall remain nameless.

For some possibly twisted reason, I was a fan of Marie Osmond growing up. She was pretty, and she could sing (although I didn’t care for the songs she chose or that were picked for her to sing). Part of it, I suppose, was that I also always liked the name Marie, the French variation of Mary, and as is usually the case with all things French, Marie had a touch of elegance and delicacy to it.

In the 1950s, a number of early rock songs were written about women and titled using the character’s name (“Maybelline,” “Lucille,” “Peggy Sue,” etc.), a trend continuing to the current day.

Given that fact and my affection for the name Marie, it seemed appropriate I write a song following that trend. I don’t have the melody completely worked out as yet, but I envision this song as a tribute and a throwback to those somewhat seemingly simpler songs from the early days of rock and roll.

Marie

Marie – I used to think that you were true
Marie – But now, you tell me that we’re through
You stood by me when times were good
Now times are hard, you say that you can’t love me like you should
I don’t know what I’m gonna do – Marie

Marie – How could you treat me this way?
Marie – I can’t believe the things you say
All those pretty words, I guess were lies
‘Cause I can see I’m now a stranger in your eyes
My sunny skies have all turned gray – Marie

You used to treat me like a king
But now you look at me like I don’t mean a thing
You used me up; now you’re throwing me away
My heart just realized today is garbage day

Marie – I can’t believe this is the end
Marie – Couldn’t we at least pretend
We once had something, and it was strong
Looking back, I can’t tell where it is that we went wrong
My heart will break ’cause it can’t bend –
Can’t I be more than just a friend –
You’ve left a hole that I can’t mend – Marie

© 2018 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Maybe I Should Apologize In Advance?

  • A says:

    Hey…I liked the Osmond’s back in the day….don’t hate on the past. 🙂

    Cool tune at least the lyrics, although very sad…such a reminder of the 50’s, 60’s trend that you speak of. As always, nicely done. 🙂

    I’m a little bit country…I’m a little bit rock & roll…..

    xoxo

    *Anita*

    Anita Sugimura Holsapple, M.S. 310.741.7880 Battlefield-home.com

    “They laugh at me because I’m different; I laugh at them because they’re all the same.” ― Kurt Cobain

    *The information contained in this electronic message and any files transmitted with it may be legally privileged and confidential under applicable law, and intended only for the use of the individual or entity named above. If the recipient of this message is not the above-named intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, copy or disclosure of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please notify the sender and purge the communication immediately without making any copy or distributio*n.

    On Wed, Aug 2, 2017 at 11:10 AM, My Wordsmithing wrote:

    > Walt Huntsman posted: “There is a commercial for a weight-loss program > that comes on as many as a dozen times a day or more, it seems. You’ve > probably seen it. The commercial in question features Marie Osmond, touting > the benefits of the program, which shall remain nameless. F” >

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maybe I Should Apologize In Advance? at My Wordsmithing.

meta

