Riding The Blues Train

June 13, 2017 § Leave a comment

Every so often, I like to try my hand at writing a blues lyric. Based on an earlier effort that incorporated a good deal of religious imagery (edited to reflect some changes), I decided I wanted to write something that incorporated the religious notion of giving thanks. For some reason, I also hit upon the metaphor of love as a train.

Say Amen

I saw the proof, I learned the truth
And then, I caught you in a lie
Make no mistake, my heart won’t break
Because I’m telling you goodbye

You can pack your things and get off this train
‘Cause it won’t be stopping here again
I looked for sunshine, all you brought was rain
When you’re gone, I’ll give thanks
And say Amen

Just save your lies, your alibis
‘Cause they don’t mean a thing to me
No memories, no saying please
My eyes are open, and they see

This train’s about to leave the station
And it won’t be coming back again
I’ll say goodbye without hesitation
And when you’re gone, I’ll give thanks
And say Amen

I’ve given all I have
There’s nothing left for you to take
Falling for you was not my first
But it’s my biggest mistake

Closing the file, after a while
I know my heart will start to mend
But after you and all you put me through
It’ll be some time before I love again

You can pack your things and get off this train
‘Cause it won’t be stopping here again
I looked for sunshine, all you brought was rain
When you’re gone, I’ll give thanks
And say Amen

When you’re gone, I’ll give thanks
And say Amen

© 2018 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Riding The Blues Train at My Wordsmithing.

meta

