Writing Through The Pain

June 4, 2017 § Leave a comment

I’ve been writing lyrics for longer than I’d probably care to admit. For most of that time, my lyrics were my therapy, serving to help me cope with emotional pain, setbacks, and even triumphs.

In the last few years, my writing has finally branched out to become more universal, I think, and my songs have gotten better as a result. My lyrics still at times serve a therapeutic purpose, but I think even those seem to speak to something bigger than me and my problems.

Today’s entry comes at the end of a recent creative spurt which found me writing lyrics for three songs in two days. (No, I’m not bragging.) This song was borne out of the misfortune of a fellow singer-songwriter who had her guitar all but destroyed (the jury is still out) by another person.

Based on the pictures I saw of the guitar, I began to imagine a bit of back story, and I came up with the following. I hope she doesn’t mind and is not offended.

Staying True, Staying Strong

Her guitar was bruised and battered
It’d been through the wars
Her feet were on the ground
But her songs reached for the stars

Every scratch, every crack
Had its own story to tell
Amazing what a song has to say
When its singer’s been through hell

Staying true, staying strong
Keeping on the path when others say it’s wrong
Racing time, chasing fate
Hope against hope it’s not too late
To finally follow through
And for once, have a dream come true

She’d seen her share of heartache
Maybe a little more
Trying hard to learn from
Mistakes she’s made before

Every string, every note
Seems to come right from the heart
Hard to say where the music comes from
When your world’s falling apart

Sometimes there’s nothing you can do
But ride the wave and see it through
Time doesn’t always reveal
What’s up ahead
No guarantee that it will heal

Staying true, staying strong
Keeping on the path when others say it’s wrong
Racing time, chasing fate
Hope against hope it’s not too late
To finally follow through
And for once, have a dream come true

Hope against hope it’s not too late
To finally follow through
And for once, have a dream come true

© 2018 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Writing Through The Pain at My Wordsmithing.

meta

