Dreamers and Doers

May 12, 2017 § Leave a comment

I suppose I’ve always been a dreamer. Growing up, my dreams were my escape from the less than pleasant reality around me. Those dreams, fantasies really, served as a coping mechanism to help me survive. I won’t go into detail except to say that, while I learned to dream, I never really learned to dare or to do.

That realization came to mind whilst reading a story about musician Paul Weller. At 59, Weller has basically already crammed three musical careers into one lifetime. First, as leader of the influential band The Jam. Later, as leader of The Style Council. Finally, his solo music career, which sees about to release his 13th solo album.

The difference between us (not accounting for possibly subjective factors such as talent)? He may have had others who believed in him, but he certainly believed in his own ability and possessed the will to pursue and act on that ability. Until recently, I haven’t.

Growing up, I moved from dream to dream more often than I moved from one address to another. I had the dreams but not the drive, determination, or self-confidence to act on any of them. Friends will say that I’m acting on my dreams now, and that’s what matters. I’m sure they’re right, but I often find myself thinking about what might have been, as they say, if I had possessed a stronger work ethic or greater self-confidence or had been given more encouragement. Or all of the above.

Reading the story about Paul Weller, I got to thinking about all of that, which led to today’s lyrical entry.

Flow Like Days

Dreams I failed to nurture
Seeds planted in unfertile ground
It’s hard to reap what doesn’t grow
Time I let slip by me
Thought I always had tomorrow
But then it passed, where did it go?

Years flow like days
Each one faster than the last
I can’t count the ways
I let my future slip into my past

Things that I chased after
The peace I never seemed to find
It always seemed in front of me
There on the horizon
I hear a whisper, soft and low
Promising something I can’t see

Dreams flow like days
One dies, another takes its place
Each left where it lays
While I take up another fruitless chase

I’ve never been sure, did I chase the dream
Or was it chasing me?
Guess it doesn’t matter ’cause either way
It wasn’t meant to be

Time was once an ally
Stretched out like an open road
But now, the clock is running down
Looking at the ledger
Seems I brought less than I owe
Insecure, the man behind the clown

Years flow like days
Each one faster than the last
I can’t count the ways
I let my future slip into my past
Dreams flow like days
One dies, another takes its place
Each left where it lays
While I take up another fruitless chase

© 2018 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dreamers and Doers at My Wordsmithing.

meta

