Exploring The Depths

May 9, 2017 § Leave a comment

As most of us know, life is not always sunshine and roses (or milk and honey or whichever trite cliché you want to insert). Sometimes, things get rough, go badly, take a wrong turn, often because of our own stubbornness, foolishness, or false pride.

Sometimes when that happens, I wallow for an hour or two or even a day or two. Sometimes, though, I get a song idea from it. Such is the case in this instance. While I don’t have the final arrangement figured out, I envision a simple three or four-chord structure, finger-picked in a variation on traditional Travis style, where the chord is picked up the scale the first time (1, 3, 4, 5 or 2, 3, 4, 5 depending on the chord) and then picked in a normal Travis pattern as it has been explained to me (1, 5, 3, 4 or 2, 5, 3, 4, again depending on the chord).

This song reflects on my own shortcomings and my own questions about faith and my seeming inability at times when it comes to interpersonal relationships.

Road To Forgiveness

Seems I’ve lost my way
Not sure where to turn
Memories come rushing back
Of lessons never learned

Darkness all around
I still can’t see the light
Every step I take seems wrong
I’ve lost sight of what’s right

God, if you’re there, won’t you hear me
Don’t leave me in the wilderness
God, if you care, please stay near me
Help me find the road to forgiveness

So many altars I have thrown myself before
And still no comfort have I found
I stumble blindly through the wasteland
Frustrated in my search for holy ground

Looking up, I find
My soul can’t reach the sky
Drowning in a sea of sorrow
But I’ve no tears left to cry

God, if you’re there, won’t you hear me
Don’t leave me in the wilderness
God, if you care, please stay near me
Help me find the road to forgiveness

© 2018 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Exploring The Depths at My Wordsmithing.

meta

