From The Mouths Of Babes?

May 2, 2017 § Leave a comment

Inspiration comes in many forms and travels many different paths. As I’ve mentioned before, I sometimes find it in things I see, places I go, and, in this case, things I hear.

One day at breakfast, my son was talking (and talking) about Pokemon and Pokemon Go. It seemed at the time there was nothing else he could talk about. There certainly was nothing else he wanted to talk about (unless it was the Nintendo Switch – sense a theme here?).

While I’m not sure the world is ready for a song about Pokemon or Pokemon Go (I know I’m not), I did get any idea from my son’s singular topic of discussion. This is intended to be a slow blues number.

One Track Mind

You’ve got a one-track mind
I can’t seem to break through
You’ve got a one-track mind
Don’t know what I’m s’posed to do
Every time I try to reach you
I can feel you holding back
You’ve got a one-track mind
But one track for who?

You’ve got your mind made up
I don’t think it’s gonna change
You’ve got your mind made up
See no way to rearrange
Every time I raise the subject
You go on the attack
You’ve got your mind made up
It just seems a little strange

There’s only one thing
You ever want to talk about
But that conversation’s something
I think I can do without

You’ve got a one-track mind
Guess that’s how it’s gonna be
You’ve got a one-track mind
There’s no room in it for me
I can’t keep playing your game
Sooner or later, I’m gonna crack
You’ve got a one-track mind
Guess I’ll have to set you free

You’ve got a one-track mind
Guess I’ll have to see you free

© 2018 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading From The Mouths Of Babes? at My Wordsmithing.

meta

