Inspired By Events

March 22, 2017 § Leave a comment

Last week, the family and I ventured up to the Sun Valley area for the 2017 Sun Valley Film Festival. For anyone who loves movies beyond the latest overpriced, overproduced, over special effected action film du jour, film festivals are a great experience and a great opportunity to see and be exposed to films you might otherwise miss out on.

For me, the entire experience was a bit otherworldly. Not in a Hollywood, star-struck, overwhelmed by celebrity sort of way. Rather, it was both humbling and inspiring to be around so much passion for film and utter creativity.

For the most part, I was very comfortable being around and amongst these creative types, striking up conversations with directors and others involved in film. However, the first night of the film festival had me feeling a bit out of my depth.

No doubt because of the newness of the experience, I felt a bit like a pretender in and among all these film people. So I did what I normally do in such situations. I wrote a song.

Odd Man Out

I’m way in over my head
I’ve gotten myself in deep
Not sure what I should do
I only know I can’t sleep

‘Cause when it all goes to Hell
When it all hits the fan
Will someone come and say
It went according to plan
When they push the panic button
Who’ll be left holding the can?

Odd man out – I just don’t seem to fit
There’s no doubt and this feeling won’t acquit
And this time there won’t be any
Getting over it

Feels like I’m one step behind
With every day losing touch
There seems to be no escape
When it gets to be too much

Can’t read the signs and I can’t make out the clues
They’re in a language I can’t speak
When I’m confronted and it’s either win or lose
Not sure of what it is I seek

(Instrumental)

I’m standing right at the edge
Just one push and I fall
Dancing ’round in circles
Until I hit the wall
Then I’m left here on my own
No one to catch me when I fall

Odd man out – I just don’t seem to fit
There’s no doubt and this feeling won’t acquit
And this time there won’t be any
Getting over it

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspired By Events at My Wordsmithing.

meta

