In These Times

March 6, 2017 § Leave a comment

We live in a divisive time. The left blames it on the right. The right blames it on the left. Christians blame it on Muslims and vice versa. On and on it goes.

I don’t know whether we are more divided now than we have been recent memory or whether the advent of 24-hour news and social media simply makes it seem that way. I do believe that social media has squeezed out many voices of reason and made it easier for people to say things they would not say to another person’s face.

Since Donald Trump was elected as our 45th President, many of these trends seem to have escalated, at least on my social media feed. I have been called a “libtard,” a “whiner,” a “crybaby,” a “liar,” and “college boy.” If I looked more closely, I’m sure I could find other names I’ve been called.

Judgments come fast and furious in this age of social media and instant gratification. While all sides share the blame, there are some who are nastier and meaner about it than others. This effort is directed at them.

Judgment Day

I hear you judge me
But I’ve never seen you walk a mile in my shoes
So unforgiving
Always seem to look for someone else to accuse
When you look in the mirror
Do you like what you see?
Perhaps you’d better get your own house in order
Before you come after me

That judgment day you keep talking about
It might be close at hand
I can’t imagine that your hate-filled mind
Is gonna make it to the Promised Land
You use God like a weapon
Point a finger at me just like a gun
Does that make you any better
When it’s all said and done?

We’ve all done things that we regret
But I haven’t heard you fess up to a single one of them yet
You seem to know that I’m damned
But who put you in charge of the crystal ball?
You know what they say about pride
It comes before the fall

I read the words you use
But would you call me them to my face
I’d like to think that both of us
Would use a little more tact and grace
Can you even hear yourself
All that you’re calling me
Perhaps you’d better listen to your own words
And stop complaining to me

That judgment day you keep talking about
It might be close at hand
I can’t imagine that your hate-filled mind
Is gonna make it to the Promised Land
You use God like a weapon
Point a finger at me just like a gun
Does that make you any better
When it’s all said and done?

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

EDIT: Added another verse.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In These Times at My Wordsmithing.

meta

