A Valentine For My Valentine

February 14, 2017 § 1 Comment

For some reason, when I write lyrics, I tend not to write very romantic songs. Many of my songs deal with love, but they do so from the other side of the coin, speaking to relationships that failed. I’m not sure why that is, seeing as how I’ve been married for 23 years and counting.

In other words, I don’t do mushy well, as my wife can attest. However, I thought I should try to write something for her for Valentine’s Day, especially as we decided not to get each other anything and help fill the coffers of the greeting card or jewelry industries. (Also, since I wrote this, it technically isn’t “getting” her anything. See how I did that?)

In writing this, I knew I also did not want the lyrics to come across as syrupy or saccharine. Having recently been listening to music with more clever turns of phrase, I decided I wanted to try something a bit more poetic. Let me know if I came close.

These lyrics do take some poetic license, but hopefully that is to be expected. For the sake of vocalization, my wife’s name is pronounced in the lyrics as teh-ray-sah rather than its normal pronunciation of tuh-ree-sah.

NOTE: Edited to correct some typos and other weirdness in the lyrics. (6-13-2017: edited to reflect change in song’s title.)

Sister Teresa Merciful Angel

The patience of a saint, the temper of a sailor
My heart is in prison, and she is my jailer
She can go ahead and throw away the key
‘Cause I never want to be set free

A smile to warm my heart, a look to stop a train
Even when she’s gone, she is still inside my brain
Haven’t ever done enough to make her stay
But she’s the holy heart to which I pray

Sister Teresa Merciful Angel, watch over me
Keep me safe from the coming storm
I look to you to help me make it through
Save me from the demons of the night and keep me warm

Sits like the Madonna, angelic in repose
Just what she is thinking there’s nobody knows
I gladly sacrifice myself upon her cross
If she left, how would I stand the loss

I lay my heart there at her altar
And hope she’ll take my sacrifice
Small recompense for what she’s given
Her love is gold at any price

Sister Teresa Merciful Angel, watch over me
Keep me safe from the coming storm
I look to you to help me make it through
Save me from the demons of the night and keep me warm

Sister Teresa Merciful Angel, won’t you save me from the storm

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to A Valentine For My Valentine

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Valentine For My Valentine at My Wordsmithing.

meta

