Time Marches On

December 31, 2016 § Leave a comment

As I write this, it is a little less than six hours where I live to the start of 2017. In some parts of the world, the calendar has already flipped to the new year. So this is where I say Happy New Year and wish everyone a happy, healthy, and prosperous 2017.

I feel like I should share a poem or some lyrics about the changing of the calendar and the move into a new year, but I don’t have anything along those lines. However, I do have a little something I’ve written about the passage and the passing of time. It breaks time down a bit more than year to year, but it is all I have.

The lyric to follow turns on the idea of an hourglass, which was once a way people measured time. A restaurant I occasionally eat at still uses a smaller version for timing the steeping of tea.

The grains of sand in the hourglass have occasionally been used as metaphor for the passage of time and the running down of a life, and that is how I have approached the hourglass here, combining it with the notion of the turning of the calendar.

One Grain Of Sand

I stare at the clock but the hands don’t move
It feels as if time is just standing still
I stare at the clock, hear the secondhand ticking
Time lost that I can’t get back, and I never will

Flip through the pages of the year gone by
I look at the dates, all meaningless now
Flip through the pages as if through a magazine
I can’t turn back time; I wouldn’t know how

Life in the hourglass, one grain of sand
Time rushing by me but not the way that I planned
No turning back, only one way to go
The closer I get to the end, the harder it is to go slow

I look at the sun, watch it set in the sky
Another day gone, time through my hand
I look at the sun and watch as it’s fading
Slipping away like one grain of sand

Slipping away like one grain of sand

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time Marches On at My Wordsmithing.

meta

