Trying to Stretch Myself

November 30, 2016 § Leave a comment

I have been writing lyrics for years, partly as a way to process and deal with my feelings and emotions, partly as a way to express my opinions, partly because I don’t have the discipline to try writing in longer forms.

As a would-be songwriter, I am always trying to stretch myself and write in various genres. Two of the genres I have always most wanted to write in are folk and blues. Lately, I have been trying to do just that.

Most of my previous bluesy efforts have revolved around lost lovers and the like. This effort takes a different direction. The lyrics, I think, reflect a more folk-like tradition, marginally in the spirit of Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger, but the tune, at least as I hear it in my head, is more in line perhaps with Delta Blues. I’m not sure about the title, though, so alternate title suggestions are welcome.

Wearing A Disguise

There’s a cold wind a-blowing; can’t you feel the chill?
Things I thought we’d left behind are with us still
I see the fear, the anger, too
So many walking ’round not sure what to do

A man once said, “Walk softly and carry a big stick”
But I don’t know if that’s gonna do the trick
Some say they’re only words, but words can cut so deep
Follow you in the light of day and haunt you in your sleep

I wish that I could tell you where the answer lies
I know the truth is out there somewhere –
But it’s wearing a disguise

(slide or resonator guitar solo)

A man once told us about the power of fear
I wonder what he’s say if he was still living here
Some say that love will win and that we’ll be alright
That doesn’t chase the demons away when I go to sleep at night

I can’t explain the hate or excuse the alibis
I know the truth is out there somewhere –
But it’s wearing a disguise

There’s a cold wind a-blowing; a chill is in the air
Could it be the changing season or the breezes of despair
So many voices, hard to know what’s true
Will you see through its disguise
When truth rains down on you?

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trying to Stretch Myself at My Wordsmithing.

meta

