An Uncertain Future?

November 28, 2016 § Leave a comment

I admit I am apprehensive about what the next four years hold. I did not vote for the man about to take possession of the White House. I personally feel that those who voted for Donald Trump for President in order to shake things up in Washington, D.C. may have ended up throwing out the baby with the bath water.

While I admit I don’t know what being President entails, I suspect it involves calm, rational thinking and, above all, patience before reacting. Based on his comments and actions over the last few years, these are qualities I do not believe Donald Trump possesses.

This conclusion on my part, along with the fear and concern that conclusion engenders in me, led to these lyrics that express my worry. Note that there is some profanity in what follows. I also apologize in advance to Bob Dylan for copying one of his song titles.

A Simple Twist Of Fate

Madman’s finger on the trigger
Have we lost our fucking minds?
Everybody’s so divided
Just a sign of the times

It feels as if we’re going under
Nothing keeping us afloat
Inmates are running the asylum
They simply stand around and gloat

What the hell happened?
Where’d we lose our way?
Someone found the loophole
Tapped our inner hate
Undone by a simple twist of fate

Not sure who’s running this circus
Don’t know who controls this ride
On the outside, I’m maintaining calm
But I’m damn sure shaking deep inside

This ain’t the country I remember
The one pledged to equality
We’ve thrown out everything we stand for
Someone tell Lady Liberty

What the hell happened?
Where’d we lose our way?
Someone found the loophole
Tapped our inner hate
Undone by a simple twist of fate

Black and white, wrong and right
Overturned without a fight
Make your choice, ignore the voice
That tries to lead you to the light

What the hell happened?
Where’d we lose our way?
Someone found the loophole
Tapped our inner hate
Undone by a simple twist of fate

Someone found the loophole
Tapped our inner hate
Undone by a simple twist of fate

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Uncertain Future? at My Wordsmithing.

meta

