Musing On The Past

October 28, 2016 § Leave a comment

I have reached a stage in life where more days have passed behind than I still have lying ahead. Such is a consequence of growing older.

On the other hand, the aging process has given me a growing number of experiences from which to draw when writing a song. Increasingly, I find myself mining those experiences for material.

Years back, when I still worked in broadcasting, I lost a radio job in Rapid City, South Dakota and moved, sight unseen, to Alexandria, Louisiana to take job at a television station there. The move cost me a house I was building and a relationship I had begun.

I have thought of those days from time to time but have never really looked at them as potential material for a song until recently. I took that experience, added a bit of poetic license, and ended up with this offering.

Seek And Hide

Packed up my car and I headed south
Left my familiar life behind
Headed for a place I’d never been before
Unsure what I was gonna find
When I left, you said you couldn’t come
Instead, you asked me why I had to run
I said, “Don’t take it personal. It’s just an itch inside.
I have to go and seek, then run and hide.”

Afraid of the night, afraid of the day
Afraid of the feelings that get in the way
Not sure what I’m after; not sure who I am
A lover, a fighter, a poet, a dreamer
Or just a simple man

Driving through an unfamiliar land
My rear-view mirror facing home
Thinking about a friendly voice
To give me comfort on the phone
Not sure I really thought it through
How life would be different without you
Not sure which of us was strong or which of was weak
But I had to run and hide, then go and seek

Looking for redemption, looking for release
Some quiet harbor where, finally, there is peace
Not sure what I’m looking for; not sure what I’ll find
An answer, more questions, a change in direction
Or just a place to ease my mind

Packed up my car and I headed south
Left my familiar life behind
Headed for a place I’d never been before
Unsure what I was gonna find
When I left, you said you couldn’t come
Instead, you asked me why I had to run
I said, “Don’t take it personal. It’s just an itch inside.
I have to go and seek, then run and hide.”

Facing my demons, afraid of what’s inside
I have to go and seek, then run and hide

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Musing On The Past at My Wordsmithing.

meta

