More From The Road

September 18, 2016 § Leave a comment

In my last post, Inspiration From The Road, I wrote about finding inspiration from a mileage sign and the probably unintentional sense of humor someone must have had to name a town in practically the middle of nowhere Bliss.

On the journey back to Boise from Castle Rocks State Park, we passed another interstate sign marking the exit to Paradise Valley. Although I don’t normally come up with a song title before writing the lyrics, as we passed the exit sign, I thought to myself that Paradise Valley would be a great title for a song.

Perhaps someone else has already written a song called “Paradise Valley.” If so, this would not be the first time more than one song has shared a title (“Crazy Love” by Lynyrd Skynyrd and Van Morrison comes to mind), so I won’t bother to apologize for repeating a title.

It may not be as good (probably isn’t), but this song is in a similar vein to John Mellencamp’s “Jack and Diane” with perhaps a hint of “Lonely Ol Night” and Bruce Springsteen’s “Glory Days” thrown in for good measure.

Paradise Valley

Me and Mary on a Saturday night
In the back of my daddy’s car
While everybody else was at the game
We were wishing on a shooting star
Mary was gonna shake the dust of this town
And I was getting out at any price
For a few hours, we escaped
Traveled to Paradise

I came from the wrong side of town
Mary lived way up on the hill
When we first met, I thought that she
Was simply looking for a thrill
Her momma told her ’bout my side of town
Mary didn’t listen to her advice
And for a few hours every Saturday
We traveled to Paradise

In the valley where we lived
We all knew the score
If one person knew, everybody knew
A secret wasn’t secret anymore
What me and Mary found
Could never hope to last
We couldn’t have a future
With our backs up against the past

Me and Mary graduated from school
And then we went our separate ways
Though it’s been a lot of years
I still think about those days
Mary still lives up on her hill
While I’ve been married twice
At night, I still dream of escaping
And traveling to Paradise

I’d gladly pay the price

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More From The Road at My Wordsmithing.

meta

