Write What You Know? No!

August 26, 2016 § Leave a comment

I can’t point to specific voices, articles, or websites, but it seems I have through the years often come across the following writing advice – write what you know. I think I go against that advice more often than not. If I didn’t, I probably wouldn’t write very much or very often.

Truth be told, I don’t really “know” that much. I have bits and pieces of information and half-formed ideas on any number of subjects, but I don’t really write what I know. Instead, I write what I feel, what I think, what I wish, etc. Sometimes, I write from a place of total imagination.

For instance, I have never been walked out on or been cheated on by a lover. Yet my imagination has often gone into that personally unknown realm to find material for my lyrics. (Perhaps I’m still trying to channel my inner Leonard Cohen.) The following lyrics, offered up for your consideration, are yet another example.

Another Trophy

Feel like I’m stranded in the desert
And girl, it’s getting so damn hot
After what you did to me
I feel as if I had been shot
Your silver bullet went right through me
I never really stood a chance
I never even saw the gun –
I guess a single night of fun
Is what passes for romance

And now, I’m looking for some Good Samaritan
To come and save me from myself
Before my heart is lost forever
Just another trophy on your shelf

Feel like I’m lost out on the ocean
Nobody else for miles around
After what you put me through
Not sure that I want to be found
Perhaps you didn’t try to hurt me
It just came naturally to you
But somehow, somewhere in the night
Our love became some sort of fight
There was nothing I could do

You thought that you could change me
And makeover my heart
Till I no longer recognized myself
That’s when it all fell apart

Feel like I’m sitting here in limbo
And I don’t know which way to go
I could stay or cut my losses
There’s trouble either way, I know
I could try and take the high road
And find I’m skating on thin ice
Or I could stay and fight it out
Although I’d lose, I have no doubt
Either way, I’ll pay a price

And now, I’m looking for some Good Samaritan
To come and save me from myself
Before my heart is lost forever
Just another trophy on your shelf

The battle’s lost, I’ll pay the cost
And lose myself
Content to be another trophy
On your shelf
Content to be another trophy
On your shelf

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write What You Know? No! at My Wordsmithing.

meta

