Positive About The Blues

May 21, 2016 § Leave a comment

Lately, it seems I’ve been too busy writing to write. That is, I’ve been too busy writing lyrics to write posts for this blog. My apologies. Now, on with today’s installment.

I don’t usually set out to write a song in any particular style. An opening line or two comes to me, along with a sense of the melody, and I take it from there. My writing process (if I have one) tends to be a bit organic.

However, every once in a while, I do want to write in a particular genre. That’s especially true when it comes to the blues. I love writing in that style, so I sometimes make a conscious decision to try to write a blues song.

For this entry, I decided to take things a bit further and write something that marries a blues sound with an uptempo, rock-like rhythm. I think it’s pretty good, but then, I am kind of partial to what I write, at least most of it.

About To Lose Control

Oh, I know what I want
And baby, it’s you
You’ve got the kind of love
That could save a dead man’s soul
Won’t you take my heart in hand
Need your help to make it through
But you got to hurry
‘Cause I’m about to lose control

Oh, I know what I need
It’s there in your touch
There’s something about you
That could make half a man whole
Won’t you take my hand in yours
These eyes have seen so much
Please, won’t you hurry
‘Cause I’m about to lose control

I swear you could make the lame to walk
And bring sight to the blind
Raise the dead and cause the sun to shine
Like a drink of cool, cool water
Only you can quench my thirst
It’s your love that brings me peace of mind

Oh, I know what I feel
It’s more than an urge
Though my heart’s on the line
I feel that magnetic pull
Girl, you hold my sanity
And I’m standing on the verge
Now, you’d better hurry
‘Cause I’m about to lose control

(Instrumental:)

I swear you could make the lame to walk
And bring sight to the blind
Raise the dead and cause the sun to shine
Like a drink of cool, cool water
Only you can quench my thirst
It’s your love that brings me peace of mind

Oh, I know what I see
It looks mighty fine
I swear that your love
Could make a starving man feel full
Won’t you take my words to heart
Give you everything that’s mine
But baby, let’s hurry
‘Cause I’m about to lose control

It’s time to hurry
‘Cause I’m about to lose control

© 2017 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Positive About The Blues at My Wordsmithing.

meta

