Inspiration From Others

May 1, 2016 § 2 Comments

Yesterday, as a family, we took part in the annual Run/Walk for Autism benefiting the Autism Society of the Treasure Valley (ASTV). Although it was a little cool and a little breezy, and my allergies/cold did their best to knock me down, it was still a nice day and a nice event.

Before we’d even left the parking lot to head home after the event, I began to get ideas for some new lyrics, inspired by the event and the generosity of those taking part. When I got home, cold/allergies and all, I starting writing those lyrics down as fast as they popped into my head. A little while and a few minor changes later, I had the following, which goes out to all of us who are a little “different” from others:

Shine (for ASTV)

Don’t turn your back on me; I’m not the same as you
I still have feelings your words can cut right through
I may be chasing my dream in a crooked line
I’ll get there in the end, but I need you to help me shine, shine, shine
Won’t you help me shine, shine, shine
Together we can shine

I see you standing there; you’re not the same as me
But that’s no reason for you to treat me differently
I’ve got a lot to give if you’ll just give me time
With a little help from you I know that I can shine, shine, shine
Won’t you help me shine, shine, shine
Together we can shine

Shine like a precious stone or like the brightest star
I just need somebody to believe
And with a helping hand, I know that I’ll go far
I’ve got lots of tricks still up my sleeve

Just listen to your heart, and take a chance on me
Look beneath the surface, and I think you will see
I’ve got a lot to give, so read between the lines
With a little patience I know you can help me shine, shine, shine
Need you to help me shine, shine, shine
Together we can shine, shine, shine
It’s my time now to shine

© 2016 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Inspiration From Others

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiration From Others at My Wordsmithing.

meta

