Making Lemonade?

April 1, 2016 § Leave a comment

A good many of the lyrics I write get their initial inspiration from what I see or hear around me – a glimpse, a phrase, a combination of the two – then my imagination kicks in and takes it from there. Sometimes, I get more than a glimpse or a phrase and get an idea from something that directly happens to me.

Recently, we flew to Alabama to visit family. The plan was to fly into New Orleans, spend the night, then walk around the French Quarter before driving over to spend the rest of the week with the family. That was the plan.

Instead, our flight to Denver was delayed and then canceled, as was the second Denver flight the airline booked us on, all because of a blizzard and power outage that caused the closure of the Denver airport.

Nine and a half hours later, we were finally on a plane bound for . . . Los Angeles. That change meant we would not make our connecting flight to New Orleans and would instead have to fly from L.A. to the Big Easy. Unfortunately, that flight would not get into New Orleans until 5:30 the next morning, resulting in another seven and a half hour wait.

As a result, our six hour flight (including layover and time change) ended up taking 22 and a half hours. We did still end up spending a night in New Orleans on the back end and did still get to walk around the French Quarter. Plus, I got a song out of the adventure.

A Day At The Airport

I spent a day at the airport
That wasn’t really the plan
My flight to Denver got canceled
I got the word from The Man
He told me there was a blizzard
And that the power was out
    So because of the snow
    I wasn’t able to go
The choice was out of my hands

All I could do was sit and wait
And hope I reached my destination
Before it got too late
I was left with time to kill
But airport life holds no thrill
Especially when you’re being shuffled
From gate to gate

I was bound for New Orleans
Big Easy anything but
And like a bag on a carousel
I seemed to be in a rut
I couldn’t make my connection
Somehow it wasn’t my day
    Don’t know who pulls the strings
    When it comes to these things
So I just kept my mouth shut

All I could do was sit and wait
And hope I reached my destination
Before it got too late
I was left with time to kill
But airport life holds no thrill
Especially when you’re being shuffled
From gate to gate

After surviving this mess
Next time, I’ll drive there, I guess
Or bring a pillow
So that I can sleep while I wait

© 2016 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making Lemonade? at My Wordsmithing.

meta

