A Bit More Uptempo

March 22, 2016 § Leave a comment

A great deal of what I write falls into the country/blues/folk categories, and most of my songs are more ballad-like in nature. For a change of pace, this one has a little bit more of a rock rhythm to it.

Silly Me

You think I’m crazy for the things I do
Why do you treat me this way?
You say you love me
Then you won’t give me the time of day
You got me so I can’t tell day from night
It may be wrong, but it feels so right
Perhaps I’m too blind to see –
Silly me

Silly me for not getting out before it got too late
Now I’m in so deep, my king’s in danger of checkmate
Not a single clue of just what I should do
You set the trap; I took the bait

I know you think I’m just a simple fool
I guess you could be right
Only know it’s you I’m thinking of
Every day and every night
Wish I had some way to reach your heart
But I don’t even know where to start
As you prove constantly –
Silly me

(Instrumental:)

Silly me for not getting out before it got too late
Now I’m in so deep, my king’s in danger of checkmate
Not a single clue of just what I should do
You set the trap; I took the bait

Now I know I’ll never get free –
Silly me

© 2016 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Bit More Uptempo at My Wordsmithing.

meta

