Drawing From The Past

March 8, 2016 § Leave a comment

Normally when I write, I take inspiration from my surroundings or from something I overhear or see. Lately, though, I have been looking back through my own life for subject matter.

I am currently working on lyrics for songs that draw upon episodes and people in my life. Such is the case with this offering, which sprang from the memory of my first love affair. While there are a few grains of truth sprinkled here and there, much of what came out is a fictionalized rendition of what actually occurred. Hopefully, it will still ring true.

Will I Find It In You Tonight

When I met her, she was almost old enough
To be the mother that I never had
I was just an inexperienced young man,
A bit pathetic, if not sad
She was drinking on a Friday night, alone,
In a bar outside of town not far from home
So I sat down and I asked her if she’d like some company
And this is what she said to me

She said, “I’ve looked for love in a stranger’s eyes
Convinced myself to believe their lies
I’ve been bruised and battered, been knocked down
Through the lonely nights and tears I’ve found
That all I really need’s a little light
Will I find it in you tonight?”

She said her name was Anna,
And her husband was a thousand miles away
Said she should have seen it as an omen
When it rained upon their wedding day
She’d stayed with him to bring up their two girls
Who now were off to carve out their own worlds
She said if I wanted to that I could take her home
Then we wouldn’t spend tonight alone

She said, “I’ve looked for love in a stranger’s eyes
Convinced myself to believe their lies
I’ve been bruised and battered, been knocked down
Through the lonely nights and tears I’ve found
That all I really need’s a little light
Will I find it in you tonight?”

(Instrumental:)

Though years have passed, I still can see her face
Lined with the pain that time could not erase
Seems like I can still recall her tears each time it rains
I guess a little of her still remains

She said, “I’ve looked for love in a stranger’s eyes
Convinced myself to believe their lies
I’ve been bruised and battered, been knocked down
Through the lonely nights and tears I’ve found
That all I really need’s a little light
Will I find it in you tonight?”

© 2016 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Drawing From The Past at My Wordsmithing.

meta

