Thanks, Elvis!

January 18, 2016 § Leave a comment

No, I’m not talking about the other Elvis, Elvis Presley. I’m referring to Elvis Costello, to my mind one of the great songwriters and under appreciated musical artists of the 20th and 21st century.

I was listening this morning to Beyond Belief: A Tribute to Elvis Costello, a three-CD compilation of Costello songs as performed by other independent musicians. One of his best songs, Brilliant Mistake, came on, and my wife said I can learn to play that.

While she went into her office with her guitar to get down the lyrics and the chords for that song, I went into my office, inspired by the song, to see if I could write something of the same tenor. I don’t know whether I succeeded, but I’m pretty happy with the result.

Life’s Simple Stage

Somewhere, it seems you’ve lost the plot
Not sure how the story goes
Can’t seem to recall your lines
I guess that only shows
There comes a time in every life
To choose between the pen and knife
Before you take that final bow
Here on life’s simple stage

There’s no time to rewrite the script
Simply for the sake of art
Rehearsals have all ended now
It’s time to play your part
No sense for you to be afraid
Your cues come from your choices made
It’s the role that you were born to play
Here on life’s simple stage

They say no part’s too small
And yet you feel so minuscule
A minor actor in a major world
Cast out of the talent pool

You worry that you might end up
Left there on the cutting floor
Every day’s audition leaves you
Heading for the door
You’ve been worn down, now feeling small
But you’ve still one last curtain call
Before your scene comes to an end
Here on life’s simple stage

© 2016 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thanks, Elvis! at My Wordsmithing.

meta

