Goodbye, Major Tom

January 11, 2016 § Leave a comment

I read today of the death of David Bowie. Many of his songs helped formed the soundtrack of my adolescence and early adulthood – Changes; Space Oddity; Rebel, Rebel; 1984; Diamond Dogs; Fame; Young Americans; and so many more.

Later, Bowie proved his ability as a musical chameleon, adapting to and even elevating above changes in the music scene. Let’s Dance and China Girl resonated with many older fans and brought in new ones.

His last album, Blackstar, released on his 69th birthday and just two days before his death seems, based on the songs I’ve heard, both an exploration of and an elevation above death. I’ve no doubt Bowie will be as much a musical pioneer and chameleon on the other side of life as he was on this side.

These lyrics were hastily scribbled this morning after learning the news. More and better tributes will no doubt flow from other sources, and these lyrics may be changed in time, but they stand for now as my tribute to the man and his music. R.I.P. David Robert Jones, aka David Bowie.

R.I.P. (Eternally)

Your spirit soars above me now
A shooting star across the sky
Through the shock and disbelief
I ask myself why

You showed the world what could be done
With a life fully imagined
It seems so strange to find myself
Saying goodbye

You seemed so infinite
Like some eternal flame
Forever burning bright
Death came for you
Just as it will come for me
All I can say is R.I.P.
Rest in peace, eternally

It seems you have your final orders
Headed to some unknown beyond
A new frontier to encounter
How will you respond?

The palette seems much duller now
The saturation level dimmed
Never one to be constrained
You broke the final bond

Now truly infinite
A torch to light the way
Through that unending night
You may be gone
But you’ll live through your legacy
One thing left to say – R.I.P.
Rest in peace, eternally

© 2016 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Goodbye, Major Tom at My Wordsmithing.

meta

