Inspiration in the Little Things

January 7, 2016 § 1 Comment

2015 was a pretty eventful year for me and my family. My wife and I got to perform some of my songs live for the first in 20-plus years and for the first time outside of a church wedding. We also put together a CD of some of my songs for friends and family.

One of the biggest events of our year, though, had nothing to do with me but with our son. He was recognized by a program of the Kennedy Center as one of eight young playwright winners of a national competition for their work dealing with disability.

The trip was a whirlwind Labor Day weekend visit to Washington, DC, a visit that provided material for at least a couple of songs, one of which I shared earlier dealing with one of the Watergate co-conspirators.

Another song came out of my daily observations of the eight winners as we walked from our hotel to the Kennedy Center. My son was particularly enamored of one of the female winners, and I have to say, she was very nice to him.

That short weekend “crush” or infatuation gave me the initial inspiration for this song. I finished the first version on Labor Day. I later revised it slightly to change the sequence of verses and the bridge.

What Can You Do?

I see the way she gets to you
You’re hoping that she sees it, too
She looks your way – then turns away
What can you do?

You’re hoping that the fates are kind
But they have something else in mind
You smile and then – she’s gone again
What can you do?

What can you do to make her see you?
What would it mean if she should free you?
But if she should remain
You’d gladly wear the chain
If it meant that she’d choose to be with you

(Instrumental:)

What can you do to make her see you?
What would it mean if she should free you?
But if she should remain
You’d gladly wear the chain
If it meant that she’d choose to be with you

She has a way to touch your heart
You hope she won’t tear it apart
To find romance – you’ll take the chance
What can you do?
What can you do?
What can you do?

© 2016 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Inspiration in the Little Things

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiration in the Little Things at My Wordsmithing.

meta

