Five Days and Counting

January 5, 2016 § Leave a comment

I’m not sure I can keep this pace up, but I have been writing a lot of lyrics lately. Since I know most of them will never be committed to vinyl, as it were, it seems appropriate to share as many as I can in this space.

Today’s entry was actually finished toward the very end of 2015, although the first half of it was written several months earlier. When I started writing this song, I think I had been trying to write more in a couple of styles I enjoy but don’t often write in – blues and jazz. This particular tune was an attempt to marry something of those two styles together.

This song is sung from the point of view of the person at fault, although it’s not clear what exactly happened or was done, creating a slight shade of gray.

Up To No Good

I know where I’ve been and just where I am
But where I’m going to I just can’t pretend
The future’s unclear; the past holds no clue
‘Cos for the first time, I have to face a world without you

Don’t know what I did; not sure what I said
But letting you go must mean I’m not quite right in the head
Can’t turn back the clock; can’t take back the pain
So now you’re gone and it’s just your ghost that remains

It’s clear to me I didn’t do the things that I should
You’d have to say my heart was up to no good

I know I’m a fool for letting you go
Still not sure what happened; guess I’ll never know
The past is a blur; the future’s in doubt
It seems I took one step too far and now can’t find my way out

Don’t know what I said; not sure what I’ve done
Your walking away told me that I was no longer the one
Can’t go back in time; no starting again
Our chances are zero on a scale of one to ten

It’s clear to me I didn’t do the things that I should
You’d have to say my heart was up to no good

You’d have to say my heart was up to no good

© 2016 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Five Days and Counting at My Wordsmithing.

meta

