Advice For The Coming Year

January 3, 2016 § Leave a comment

A friend of mine posted on Facebook about the anniversary of the passing of her dad. That got me to thinking about the absence of my own father, a withdrawn and secretive man I never really knew and a man who had gone out of my life for good before I was six years of age.

For a number of years, I blamed myself for his departure, mainly because the only explanation I ever got for his leaving made such self-blame logical. Eventually, I got a different story that made sense and, more importantly, made it possible for me to let go of the self-blame and guilt.

Thinking of my friend’s grief and of my own story got me to thinking of what advice I could give someone else in pain. The following words, to be sung in a blues style, came to me in roughly ten minutes. (Hopefully, the quality of the lines will make you think the writing took much longer.)

Be Good To Yourself

I’ve seen the way you mope around
Shufflin’ through life, eyes on the ground
Your heart’s been battered
Your dreams have been shattered
There’s only one way you can rebound

Be good to yourself
Got to start looking out for you
Don’t put your heart on the shelf
That’s one thing you must never do
You won’t be much good to anyone
Living your life as if it’s already done
So please take my advice
Be good to yourself

You’re thinking that the fates were unkind
But look in the mirror, I think you will find
You misplaced the truth
In the heartbreaks of youth
Happiness is just a state of mind

Be good to yourself
Got to start looking out for you
Don’t put your heart on the shelf
That’s one thing you must never do
You won’t be much good to anyone
Living your life as if it’s already done
So please take my advice
Be good to yourself

You’re not the only one who’s ever felt the sting
That disappointment and heartache can bring
We’ve only one run before the curtain must fall
Stop looking back, simply give today your all

Open your eyes and you will see
You don’t need petty sympathy
Just open up your heart
That’s where it will start
And then the truth will set you free

Be good to yourself
Got to start looking out for you
Don’t put your heart on the shelf
That’s one thing you must never do
You won’t be much good to anyone
Living your life as if it’s already done
So please take my advice
Be good to yourself

Be good to yourself

Be good to yourself

© 2016 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Advice For The Coming Year at My Wordsmithing.

meta

