Close Call

November 11, 2015 § 2 Comments

I am always writing something down, it seems. A line, a verse, an idea, sometimes even an entire song comes to mind. So when I went through several days without writing anything down I began to worry whether I was suffering from the dreaded bane of writers at all levels – writer’s block.

Now, I could blame it on the fact that my wife and I have, for the last few days, been working on swapping office spaces or on the demands of day-to-day life. The simple fact of the matter is that I had no ideas that led anywhere. Until this morning.

I was sitting with my morning cup of coffee, actually thinking of what to write about. My problem is compounded by the fact that when I write the initial melody and lyric come together, so they both have to work or neither one does.

I was beginning to worry about writer’s block because whatever musical/lyrical ideas popped into my mind were either no good together, sounded like something I had already written, or lacked direction. That’s when the image of a compass popped into my head, and I knew I had something.

The most common compass is the one you hold to figure out your direction. There are also the terms moral compass and spiritual compass. I began to think of an emotional compass, that person who basically serves as your compass in all the senses of the word. I wrote this initial version in about 30-minutes.

True North

Got the call this morning, said that you were gone
Not sure what I’m gonna do how I’m gonna make it through
After all these years, living alone
Is not something I’m sure I can do
You were my compass, showing me which way to turn
Now I must learn to find true north on my own

Just like a ship without a rudder
Tossed upon the restless sea
Wondering if I will discover
Without you here – there is no me

Found your picture in a pile of things
I was gonna throw away
Sat and looked at it and thought of you
For the rest of the day
You were my guiding light, you lit my way for so long
Can I be strong and find true north on my own?

(Instrumental:)

Just like a ship without a rudder
Tossed upon the restless sea
Wondering if I will discover
Without you here – there is no me

Our friends call and try to comfort me
And say in time that I will heal
So many thoughts and feelings battle inside
Not sure which of them is real
Can I ever find my way without you here with me?
How will I see to find true north on my own?

Guess I must learn to find true north on my own

© 2015 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

EDIT: Changed to reflect revised second line of song in final version.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Close Call

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Close Call at My Wordsmithing.

meta

