Into the Mystic

October 9, 2015 § Leave a comment

First, apologies to Van Morrison for using the title of one of his great songs as the title of this blog post. However, it seemed appropriate.

Recently, I discovered the blog by Wayne Wirs, a self-proclaimed “rational mystic.” I was specifically reading some of his posts about van dwelling (living and traveling in a van), many of which connected with or linked to some of his more spiritual posts (he refers to the Diving as TaoGodHer) and all tied to the idea of rolling or going with the flow, or as he puts it, “flowing with it” (life, that is).

The next thing I knew, I was attempting to get in touch with that aspect of me (tiny as it currently is) and ended up with the following lyrics.

To Begin

Out on the open road
I seek to find my way
But She who guides all things
Has different plans this day

She is reminding me
That what I think is mine
Is given out on loan
To me on borrowed time

Trying to sit back and let be
To close my eyes that I might see
Beyond the world around to find the truth within
Letting go of holding on —
To begin

Is it my mind that’s closed
Or just some door instead?
What good is worrying
About what lies ahead?

Trying to take things as I find them
To accept, although I may not understand
Enjoy the ride, embrace the journey
Even when things do go exactly as I planned

The road in front of me
Has hidden twists and turns
But it’s within those spaces
The heart truly discerns

Trying to sit back and let be
To close my eyes that I might see
Beyond the world around to find the truth within
Letting go of holding on —
To begin

© 2015 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Into the Mystic at My Wordsmithing.

meta

