Mouth Organs and Singing the Blues

August 26, 2015 § Leave a comment

I don’t know if any of you have ever done this, but I sometimes like to try to sound like a trombone or trumpet with just my mouth. Earlier today, I was goofing around in the kitchen, making “horn” noises whilst trying to prepare dinner. The next thing I knew, I had the start of a song.

I have long been a blues fan and have long wanted to write more blues tunes. I kind of think of this song as channeling my inner Bessie Smith. Now, I just have to find a trombone player.

Leaving Me Blues

(eight bar trombone intro)

If you have to say goodbye
The least that you can do is tell me why
Letting me go
Without letting me know
Well, that ain’t gonna fly

If you found somebody new
Don’t you know the least that you can do
Is to tell me the reason
That your heart has turned freezin’
Leaving me feelin’ blue

I gave into you, baby
Never even said maybe
To anything that you asked me for
Now you say that we’re ending
That you’re done pretending
And now you’re gonna walk out the door

If you’re gonna set me free
Then won’t you please answer me
Let me know why you’re leavin’
So I know why I’m grievin’
‘Cause right now I can’t see

(16 bar trombone solo)

I gave into you, baby
Never even said maybe
To anything that you asked me for
Now you say that we’re ending
That you’re done pretending
And now you’re gonna walk out the door

If you have to let me go
Won’t you please just let me know
Why you’re cuttin’ me loose
Don’t give me no excuse
Can’t take this any mo’

Won’t you tell me the reason
Why your heart is now freezin’
Baby, I gotta know

(trombone out)

© 2015 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mouth Organs and Singing the Blues at My Wordsmithing.

meta

