Some News and a Little Brown-Eyed Soul

July 29, 2015 § Leave a comment

Recently, my wife and I traveled west to attend a family gathering at my cousin’s house. As part of that weekend gathering, we had the privilege of playing and singing some original songs for those in attendance. Afterwards, my cousin honored us with the gift of some funds that will help cover copyright fees for some of my work. (An individual song does not cost that much to copyright online, but once you write several or more, the cost quickly adds up.)

While I look through the catalog to determine which songs I should submit for copyright first, I continue to write new stuff. Lately, I’ve been trying to be less verbose when I write. I also want to infuse some of what I write with a bit more of what was once referred to as “blue-eyed soul,” even though my eyes are brown.

This latest effort is a little different for me in that it does not have a chorus or refrain per se, although it does have some lines that repeat at the beginning and end of the song.

My Apology

If I thought
If I said
If I did anything at all
To make you think twice about loving me
Won’t you please accept my apology

I feel a chill in the air every time you walk into the room
I can see in your eyes won’t take much for you to lower the boom
I get the sense we’ve lost the joie de vivre
Like yesterday’s news, it seems you’re over me
And now, I’m simply hanging on

I hear the edge in your voice whenever you’re talking to me
I can sense won’t be long until you decide you’ve got to be free
When you go, I know you won’t be back
In your eyes, I see your bags have all been packed
It feels like you’ve already gone

(instrumental)

I can’t turn back the clock
Or change the things we’ve said
I’m haunted by accusing voices in my head

I wish I knew how to change this feeling that’s come over you
There’s a cold calculation to everything that you say and do
There’s a wall where your heart used to be
Locked up tight and I no longer have the key
How did we ever go so wrong?

If I thought
If I said
If I did anything at all
To make you think twice about loving me
Won’t you please accept my apology

© 2015 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some News and a Little Brown-Eyed Soul at My Wordsmithing.

meta

