A Present For A Friend

July 1, 2015 § 2 Comments

I just learned that a friend of mine is celebrating her birthday today. Although I’ve known her for nearly 30 years, I swear she is celebrating her 29th birthday because she hardly looks a day older than when we worked together in Lafayette, Louisiana all those years ago.

My friend has already walked several career paths, including her current path of filmmaker. Someone on Facebook suggested she deserved a song written especially for her on her birthday, so I felt compelled to comply. Anita, this is for you. Happy birthday, my friend.

Never Can Tell

I know it’s been years, but it feels like yesterday
When we were young, and time was on our side
We both were chasing dreams with dues we had to pay
But our ambitions weren’t to be denied

Your path led one way while I walked a different road
Each looking for a life to call our own
The two of us were called to lift a different load
But if you need a hand, know that you are not alone

Anywhere you are is where a part of me will be
Time may blur the lines but not the memory
Anyplace you go a part of me will go as well
Though we said goodbye we never said farewell
One day we might meet again – never can tell

Our journeys may not quite have gone the way we planned
Nevertheless, we’re both still standing here
There may have been times when we could have used a hand
But still we made it, fighting through each tear

Though there were times when life tried to knock us down
We kept on fighting, and we stood our ground
While we may never reach the top and claim the crown
I know that we will not go down without a sound

Anywhere you are is where a part of me will be
Time may blur the lines but not the memory
Anyplace you go a part of me will go as well
Though we said goodbye we never said farewell
One day we might meet again – never can tell

As Chuck Berry sang to you and me
C’est la vie – never can tell

© 2015 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

§ 2 Responses to A Present For A Friend

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Present For A Friend at My Wordsmithing.

meta

