Syncopated Sorrow

November 25, 2014 § Leave a comment

A great deal of the lyrics I write tend to fall into the folk-pop area, but I do occasionally try my hand a t a blues lyric. And although I like a lot of jazz music, I rarely attempt to write anything with a jazz flavor. This is one of those rare times – a song about an all too common occurrence, written with a bit of a swinging jazz feel.

Another thing I’ve been working on lately is my rhyme structure and varying where the rhymes fall. In this lyric, rhymes fall within a line before setting up a new rhyme at the end of the line. Let me know what you think.

Into The Flame

That’s all she wrote
I missed the boat where she’s concerned
She said that she’d been burned too many times by me
So lesson learned
And then she turned
And walked away

That’s it, that’s that
She left me flat without a clue
Wondering if something I could do might bring her back
But she was through
The silence grew
And she was gone

I look back on all the mistakes I made
And wonder which ones I could change
To restore all of my best plans laid
But it’s much too late to rearrange

The time has come
Admit we’re done and then move on
A sucker in love’s con and in life’s game of chess
Another pawn
Like a moth drawn
Into the flame

(32 bar instrumental)

I look back on all the mistakes I made
And wonder which ones I could change
To restore all of my best plans laid
But it’s much too late to rearrange

The time has come
Admit we’re done and then move on
A sucker in love’s con and in life’s game of chess
Another pawn
Like a moth drawn
Into the flame

© 2014 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Syncopated Sorrow at My Wordsmithing.

meta

