Having a Little Fun

October 30, 2014 § Leave a comment

Tomorrow, I leave a job I’ve had for just over a year. A couple of days ago, I started thinking about that last day, and suddenly, I felt a song coming on. While it is a bit tongue in cheek, I think the title says it all. Enjoy!

I Don’t Want to Work No More

I don’t want to work no more
I just want to sit down by the ocean shore
With my toes in the sand
A beer in my hand
Listening to the roar of the waves
I could win the lottery
Then I’d be truly free
But I don’t want to work no more

I don’t want to get out of bed
I just want to lay here and relax instead
Not walking the streets
Just here ‘tween the sheets
Sleeping, with a head full of dreams
I could live a life of ease
Just doing as I please
But I don’t want to get out of bed

(harmonica solo)

I can stand to lend a hand
Every now and then
But don’t rely on my reply
If the need arises again

I don’t want to work no more
Rest and relaxation’s what I’m living for
A leisurely man
At least that’s the plan
And hoping for more of the same
If opportunity should knock
I guess I’ll punch the clock
But I don’t want to work no more

I don’t want to work no more
(That’s what I’m talking ’bout)
I don’t want to work no more
(Someone bring me another beer)
Oh, I don’t want to work no more

(harmonica close)

Got to go, I’m running late

 

© 2014 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Having a Little Fun at My Wordsmithing.

meta

