Why I Write

October 21, 2014 § Leave a comment

Chances are I will never sell any of the lyrics I write or record a hit record. After all, how many 58-year old overnight sensations do you know? Still I write, knowing it is likely few will ever read my lyrics and fewer still will ever sing my songs. So why do I put myself through that? Because it is a part of me, as much a part of me as breathing.

I’ve stopped writing a few times, going as long as a few years without putting pen to paper., but I never truly left it. I suppose a part of me still dreaming of finding success as a writer of some sort, but the main reason I write is because it has always been the way I best communicate. Although I consider myself fairly well-spoken, my communication skills truly shine when exercised through the written word. I also write because I can – and because I still have a voice. This song was born out of that knowledge.

Don’t I Have A Voice?

Don’t I have a voice?
I still have something left to say

I’m not asking for a choice
Just help me out of my own way

Sometimes I struggle
For the perfect turn of phrase
Though I know there is no such thing
I may work on  a line
For days on days on days
Like pushing uphill on a string

Don’t I have a voice?
Though no one else is there to hear?

Am I stuck with Hobson’s Choice
Take it or leave it out of fear

The words inside me
May not be all that refined
And yet, I put pen to the page
In hopes of leaving some
Immortal piece behind
Though I will never be the rage

(instrumental:)

Sometimes I struggle
For the perfect turn of phrase
Though I know there is no such thing
I may work on  a line
For days on days on days
Like pushing uphill on a string

Don’t I have a voice?
I still have something left to say

© 2014 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why I Write at My Wordsmithing.

meta

