The Roundabout Path of Inspiration

October 10, 2014 § Leave a comment

Even though I have been writing (lyrics, mostly) for several decades, I still marvel at how some of my ideas come to me and the path my imagination will take once the initial idea is born.

Take for instance the lyrics I am about to share. The initial inspiration came from a dream I had a few nights back about a friend and former colleague from my broadcasting days. While we were never romantically involved and, in fact, never dated, I don’t know of any songs about former co-workers. So my imagination took the initial seed of the dream and turned it into a lament over love lost years ago and only remembered now in dreams.

If I had to classify this, I guess I’d call it modern country.

(Last Night) I Dreamed About You

Last night, I dreamed about you
We were together again
Just like when we were younger
Doing all the things we did then
Laughing and holding hands
Talking and making plans
I still don’t understand
Why you had to go

Last night, I dreamed about you
You hadn’t changed at all
Just like when I first saw you
I couldn’t help but fall
Girl, you controlled my heart
Right from the very start
Then tore it all apart
When you had to go

Why does love sometimes hurt so much?
I shiver at the memory of your touch
Years later, I still can see your face
The thought of you
I can’t erase

(instrumental:)

Why does love sometimes hurt so much?
I shiver at the memory of your touch
Years later, I still can see your face
The thought of you
I can’t erase

Last night, I dreamed about you
We were together again
But in the morning when I woke
The dream came to an end
Guess I should say goodbye
I’ve no more tears to cry
But still I wonder why
You had to go

Guess I’ll never know . . .

© 2014 Walt Huntsman. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Roundabout Path of Inspiration at My Wordsmithing.

meta

