Reminiscing

July 16, 2014 § Leave a comment

“We’ll go dancing in the dark / Walking through the park / And reminiscing” – Little River Band

A short time back, a Facebook friend of mine (and former co-worker) posted that she was visiting and catching up with friends in Lafayette. Louisiana, a city where we both once worked. That got me to thinking back about the two years I spent there in the 1980s. I remember my time there fondly, although looking back I also realize it was a lonely time for me as I really didn’t fit in and really didn’t know how to make friends. (How a really shy person ended up working in radio and television for more than ten years is a subject for another blog and another time.)

Still, things often look different in hindsight, and my friend’s visit to Acadiana (as the region is known) got me to reminiscing. One thought led to another, and they all led to this:

The Sound of Zydeco

Livin’ my life in the land of four seasons
Summers are hot and the winters are freezin’
But I remember my time on the bayou
Boudin and gumbo and crawfish stew

From Bayou La Batre to Bourbon Street
There’s one thing, don’t you know
I miss most of all, and that’s
The sound of zydeco

Gimme some of that squeeze box
It’s a sound that can’t be beat
Guaranteed to get you
Right up on to your feet
When the music starts
And the band gets in their groove
Ain’t no way to stand still
You just got to move

From Clifton Chenier to Zachary Richard
They took the beat and they drove it hard
A sound like none I ever heard before
But once you hear it, you’ll beg for more

From Carencro to Lafayette
And all points in between
Zydeco is the rhythm of life
When you hear it, you’ll know what I mean

Gimme some of that squeeze box
It’s a sound that can’t be beat
Guaranteed to get you
Right up on to your feet
When the music starts
And the band gets in their groove
Ain’t no way to stand still
You just got to move

(instrumental)

Friday night at Grant Street
Everyone would crowd the floor
And when they heard the zydeco
They all yelled out for more

Gimme some of that squeeze box
It’s a sound that can’t be beat
Guaranteed to get you
Right up on to your feet
When the music starts
And the band gets in their groove
Ain’t no way to stand still
You just got to move

(repeat)

© 2014 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reminiscing at My Wordsmithing.

meta

