Desert of the Mind

June 30, 2014 § Leave a comment

One form of writing I’ve always struggled with is poetry. Despite the fact that I’ve written song lyrics for years, poetry has never come very easy to me, either the reading or writing of it. Whereas song lyrics are often more direct, poetry is typically more metaphorical, painting word images for the reader to follow rather than spelling it all out for him or her.

I do, from time to time, try my hand at writing poetry. Because of my difficulty with the form, most of the poems I do eventually complete are shorter efforts. This one was inspired in part by the almost six years I spent living in the Mojave Desert of California and, perhaps, in part by the desert my imagination sometimes becomes whenever I try my hand at composing a poem.

The Desert

Rock-strewn
Lunar-like, the landscape
Devoid and barren, saying,
No, screaming –
YOU ARE NOT WELCOME HERE!
Dry and dusty,
The weathered land,
Deeply scarred, displays the marks
Of a gentler time
All too brief.

A hardy few
Call this place home. Saving
Energy and strength, waiting
Patiently, Job-like, for
All-encompassing shadows
And momentary, blessed relief
From that brutal orb
That sucks life’s blood
From desperate soil
Too tired to fight.

Solitary flower –
Sisyphusian, the struggle
To find sweet nectar of life
Within the stingy,
Stubborn landscape.
Brief shining moment –
The color all too quickly
Fades against the brute force.
The arid desert gods
Enforce their will.

© 2014 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Desert of the Mind at My Wordsmithing.

meta

