Two Sides of a Coin

June 24, 2014 § Leave a comment

Two songs, two sides of love.

A-Side

Because of You (for Teresa)

Time was my life had no color
Each day lived in black and white
Simply going through the motions
‘Till you brought my heart into the light

You helped me to see the promise
In the dawning of the day
I now see life much more clearly
No longer live in shades of gray

Because of you –
The days seem so much brighter
Because of you –
The nights are not so cold
Because of you –
My heart is so much lighter
I guess if the truth be told
There is joy in all I do
    – Because of you

I lived a life without direction
I couldn’t seem to find my way
When I found you –
My heart just knew –
Here is where I was meant to stay

Because of you –
The days seem so much brighter
Because of you –
The nights are not so cold
Because of you –
My heart is so much lighter
I guess if the truth be told
There is joy in all I do

Because of you –
The days seem so much brighter
Because of you –
The nights are not so cold
Because of you –
My heart is so much lighter
I guess if the truth be told
There is joy in all I do
    – Because of you

© 2014 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

B-Side

Love Was Not Enough

She turned to him to say goodbye, then realized
That there was nothing more to say
She knew it didn’t matter words were left unsaid
He wouldn’t hear them anyway
She left him standing there amidst the ruins
Of his dreams and all that might have been
Then she turned and walked away, not looking back
The silence all she left to him

They were once the couple voted likeliest
To grab and hold the golden ring
She had been Homecoming Queen, he’d been a football star
Seemed they had everything
Things were fine in the beginning, love was new
Their future seemed to shine so bright
But in time, the shadows grew, and shades of gray
Replaced their world of black and white

They started out with nothing and made do
And didn’t think their life was all that bad
Until one day, she looked at him and realized
That nothing was just what they had
Decided that she couldn’t stay chained
To someone she knew she didn’t love
And so, she had to make the break to seek the life
She thought they’d both been dreaming of

Got herself a small apartment, then set out
To make a simpler way of life
Freed from the domestic drama and the need
To be the perfect trophy wife
He spends his nights in some old rundown bar
And tries to figure where it all went wrong
Love was not enough when times got hard
And they just simply weren’t that strong

Love was not enough when times got hard
And they just simply weren’t that strong

© 2014 Walt Huntsman. All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Two Sides of a Coin at My Wordsmithing.

meta

