What’s it all about?

June 1, 2014 § Leave a comment

In this first post, I hope to explain my goals for this blog. For years, I have told myself and anyone who would listen that I wanted to write. For about a decade, I made my living as a writer of sorts – first as a television news reporter, then as a television news producer. When I married and left television, I went back to school where I learned a different style of writing. However, almost none of it was the type of writing I said I longed to do.

Since my senior year of high school, I have written song lyrics, some okay, a few pretty good (I think), and most atrocious. However, nearly every song I’ve written over the years has served several purposes: they have helped get feelings and emotions out rather than keeping them bottled in, they have given me a creative outlet during the dullest work day, they have forced me to work my mind as I tried to come up with rhyme and rhythm schemes, and they have kept me writing.

In spite of all of the lyrics I’ve written over the years, I do not see myself as a poet. While the typically shorter format appeals somewhat to my attention-divided mind, the imagery usually associated with good poetry does not come easily to me and often does not come at all. Over the years, I have written several dozen poems, a few of which I think have potential. However, I do not see myself as a poet.

My goal is to write fiction – short and long form. I’ve written a few short stories, and my brain is always coming up with story and novel ideas that never quite make it to the page or the computer screen. With this blog, I hope to change that or at least use this blog as a springboard toward changing that, hopefully with your help.

In this blog, I hope to develop story ideas, throw out plot lines, and use whatever readers happen to drop by as sounding boards. These earlier entries may well rely on things I’ve already written either in part or in total – song lyrics, poems, short stories. Those are fair game for comments, suggestions, and constructive criticism. Simply saying “this sucks” or “this is great” may make you fell better and may make me feel momentarily good or bad, but such comments do not help to make whatever I have chosen to share the best it can be. Later, I hope to incorporate new ideas and pieces that I hope will elicit honest criticism and input.

So, those are my goals or perhaps my dreams and aspirations for this blog. They are also the rationale behind this blog’s title. I don’t know what kind of ride this will be or how long it will last, but I hope you will join me on this journey and perhaps even help me find the way.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What’s it all about? at My Wordsmithing.

meta

